top of page

The Seven Chakras

The seven chakras are the main energy centres of our body with the importance of balance and health.

Chakra is an old Sanskrit word that means wheel, like wheels of free-flowing positive energy.

The entire universe is made of energy including your body. A universal life force that moves inside of you is spinning in a clockwise motion.  This spinning energy has seven main centres in your body, starting at the base of your spine, moving up to the top of your head.

In a healthy, balanced person the 7 chakras provide the right balance of energy to every part of your body, mind, and spirit. If one of your chakras spins too quickly, is blocked, or moves slowly there are signs of physical or emotional tension or disease in the body. Shamanic Reiki is a healing technique which channels energy to unblock chakras and promotes the flow of energy/healing. 


First chakra – Base of spine, tailbone area

When our root chakra is open we are grounded, secure and more confident with life’s challenges. We have the feeling of self-reliance, feeling of abundance, vitality, trust and optimism. The root chakra connects us to Mother Earth and is comprised of whatever grounds you to stability. 

If our Root Chakra is blocked or imbalanced: 

  • Feelings of insecurity / Fear

  • Anger

  • Poor, restless sleep, or even insomnia

  • Eating disorders

  • Leg and foot pain

  • Lower back pain

  • Bladder or Colon issues


Colour: Red

Element: Earth

Crystals: Red Jasper, Smoky Quartz, Hematite

When it develops: 1-7 years old



Second Chakra – Above the pubic bone and below the navel 

When our sacral chakra is open we feel more in control of our lives finding it easier to express ourselves to embrace change. This chakra enables us to feel excitement and pleasure and great wellness and abundance. The sacral chakra governs our sexuality, creativity and productivity. It gives us the sense of emotional balance and deep connection with our partnerships. 

If our Sacral Chakra is blocked or imbalanced:

  • Fatigue

  • Sexual and reproductive issues

  • Depression

  • Addictions

  • Hip issues

  • Lack of creative inspiration

  • Low self-worth 


Colour: Orange

Element: Water

Crystals: Tiger's Eye, Carnelian, Orange Moonstone

When it develops: 8-14 years old


Third Chakra – Upper abdomen in the stomach area between the 12th thoracic and 1st lumbar vertebrae

When our solar plexus is open it gives us our personal power for self-esteem, confidence, and self-worth. It is connected to the adrenal glands and lungs. This chakra regulates our fears, sense of power, and gut feelings. A balanced, healthy solar plexus gives us the power to feel and express emotions naturally.

If our solar plexus is blocked or imbalanced:

  • Anxiety & Fear

  • Digestive issues and abdominal pain

  • Gastric issues

  • Weight Gain

  • Respiratory disorders

  • Inability to commit

  • Overinflated Ego


Colour: Yellow

Element: Fire

Crystal: Amber, Citrine, Pyrite

When it develops: 15-21 years old




Fourth Chakra – Centre of chest, just above the heart 

When our heart chakra is open we are able to experience deep compassion and empathy. We are able to express and experience love and form healthy relationships. The heart chakra is the axis of the chakra system. You give and receive love through the energy centre that is your heart chakra.

If our Heart Chakra is blocked or imbalanced:


  • Pain in your upper back or chest

  • Tight shoulders/overly flexible shoulders

  • Asthma

  • Immune deficiencies

  • Inability to receive love 

  • Lack of self-compassion

  • Feeling a sense of lack or loss with regards to love


Colour: Green

Element: Air

Crystals: Rose Quartz, Jade, Malachite

When it develops: 21-28 years old


Fifth Chakra – Throat, neck, mouth, jaw, ears and thyroid 

When our throat chakra is open it gives us strength for communication, self-expression, and truth. It is associated with the thyroid, parathyroid, jaw, neck, mouth, tongue, and larynx. When this centre is flowing and balanced, people are able to communicate appropriately and naturally. The throat chakra gives voice to the heart chakra and allows us to express our true selves in how we feel.

If our Throat Chakra is blocked or imbalanced:

  • Tension headaches

  • Thyroid problems

  • Sore throat or Laryngitis

  • Neck and shoulder stiffness

  • Temporomandibular joint dysfunction (TMJ)

  • Grinding teeth

  • Earache

  • Sinus infections

  • Struggle to speak up, set boundaries

  • Struggle to stand up for yourself


Colour: Light Blue/Turquoise

Element: Sound/Music

Crystals:  Lapis Lazuli, Aquamarine, Kyanite

When it develops: 29-35 years old



Sixth Chakra – Forehead between the eyes (also called the Brow Chakra) 'In your mind’s eye'  

When our third eye chakra is open we can connect and trust our wisdom, intuition, insight and imagination. It gives us the ability to think and make good decisions, have self-awareness and emotional balance. When the third eye chakra is open, you see the bigger picture and have a positive view of the future. 

If our Third Eye Chakra is blocked or imbalanced:

  • Headaches

  • Mental illnesses

  • Mood disorders

  • Brain fog

  • Lack of inspiration

  • Overactive, overwhelming imagination

  • Nightmares 

  • Difficulty concentrating


Colour: Dark Blue/Purple

Element: Light

Crystals: Amethyst, Purple Fluorite, Labradorite

When it develops: 36-42 years old


Seventh Chakra – The very top of the head

When our crown chakra is open we can see our Inner and outer beauty and it represents our ability to be fully connected to the Divine Source or higher self. The crown chakra affects the health of our brains and therefore our entire mental, physical, and spiritual health.

If our Crown Chakra is blocked or imbalanced:

  • Headaches

  • Dementia 

  • Autoimmune disorders

  • Neurological disorders

  • Unable to focus on the task at hand

  • Seemingly constant drama in your life

  • Feelings of isolation and distress

  • Inability to take on other’s perspectives

  • Inability to practice empathy


Colour: Violet/White

Element: Divine Consciousness

Crystals: Clear Quartz, Selenite, Lepidolite

When it develops: 43-49 years old

bottom of page